Review: A Woman with (no) Strings Attached

A Woman with (no) Strings Attached
A Woman with (no) Strings Attached by Lucie Novak
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this book. It was different. It is certainly erotica, but in a different form to that which I have previously read. It is an autobiography of a woman who suddenly releases a sexual side of herself which she never even knew was locked inside her.

Lucie is a family doctor from Prague. Her husband was a bit of a rotter. Her long-term lover, Tom, is a bit of a voyeur and is complicit, from afar, in her sexual adventures. She sets herself up for no-string-attached sex via an online dating site. Tom helps her to define her provocative profile, and even writes some of her correspondence with her online sex partners.

She has some fantastic times, and describes them very explicitly. She also gets into a bit of trouble from time to time, mainly when she ignores Tom’s experienced advice. There seemed to be more sad times in Lucie’s life than good times, but I think that is because, in this book, she held back on telling us about those wonderful parts of her life.

There is quite a lot in the text to make you laugh.

Lucie’s writing style is, and I use the word again, different, but I find it difficult to say how. Perhaps it is the Czech spin on her English. I don’t know. But the little quirks make it attractive to read.

Some of the descriptions of sexual acts are very arousing indeed, and fire up the imagination to very high temperatures. Other descriptions are a little clinical, but then, she IS a doctor!

The only niggle that I had was her repetition of “my sexual revolution.” It became a cliche. I suppose that, to be fair, that’s what this book is about. I did a count of the phrase, and it was only used eighteen times..

In summary, this is a good debut I hope that Lucie will write some more. Maybe she should have a go at expanding just one of her sexual adventures into a full blown novel which is total fantasy. If she does, I hope that she injects more of her wicked sense of humour.

View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

