Don’t make me think!

Lance Greenfield

Lance Greenfield

I started this personal blog two days before Christmas 2014 with the primary purpose of promoting my debut novel, Eleven Miles. My hope is that I’ll write and publish much more in the future, and I’ll use this blog to promote those subsequent publications.

In the two weeks since my first plunge into the blogging world, I have found so much more in terms of the fun that can be had here. My biggest objective in life is to have fun!

Reading some of the wide variety of blogs, and learning from those bloggers who obviously have loads of experience is, unquestionably, great fun. I am also enjoying posting little pieces of my own for the amusement of others.

Reviewing every book that I read (on Goodreads, Amazon and Waterstone’s) has been a passion of mine for several years now. It started when I responded to a BBC campaign called Read and Write or RAW. The idea was that you could receive a free “quick read” book of about 100 pages in return for a review which could be read out by a presenter in 60 seconds. I applied and was sent a copy of Conn Iggulden’s short story, Blackwater. Having analysed the word output of a few BBC Radio Oxford presenters, I sent in my review of this book. I had edited it down to fit exactly the top of the normal range of words spoken in one minute.

Travelling through Oxfordshire, I heard many reviews being read, but not mine. I’d forgotten about it when, four months later, I was invited in to the radio station to read my review and be interviewed, live, about my reading habits. Apparently, they had held my review back because it was, “by far the most lively and entertaining review” that they had received. So, from that point on, I have posted reviews to help others decide upon their own choice of next book to read. I also appreciate the reviews of others in helping me to make my choices.

Why am I telling you this? Because I found out that I could link my Goodreads reviews to automatically appear in my personal blog. I tried it, and viewers of my blog seem to like this aspect.

Why am I here on Blogging101?

As a novice blogger, I have so much to learn. I want to make my blog eye-catching. I want to gain as many followers as I can, as quickly as I can. I want to bring my posts to the attention of my followers, which I realize can be difficult when they are already being inundated with hundreds of notifications. Even more important, I want people who are NOT following me to notice my posts and to come to my blog.

Once somebody has landed on my top page, I want them to immediately find what they came here for, and become so interested that they decide to click on the “Follow” button. I want all viewers of my blog to enjoy the experience so much that they actually WANT to return.

Hence the reason for the title of this post: Don’t make me think!

Visitors should see what they want to see, and what I want them to see, without having to even think about it.

So I need to eliminate complexity and introduce simplicity.

There is so much you can do with blogging that it would be easy to get carried away. What should be prominent? How do I make this blog look good? How do I make it simple? How do I make it so that my viewers don’t even need to think?

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Blogging101 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t make me think!

  1. Pingback: Blogging 101 Assignment #4: Dear Dream Reader | Lance Greenfield

Leave a Reply

