Review of Eleven Miles by Howard Loring

Howard Loring

Howard Loring

Five stars

Given I’m an author, as a rule I don’t publish reviews for fear my motives may be called into question, but I’m breaking my long-established protocol for this splendid little book by Lance Greenfield, I believe his first novel, entitled ELEVEN MILES.

This stylized biography is a true gem, and for many reasons:

The simplicity of the prose is deceiving, sucking you into the story of a young African girl with an ease that belies belief, and this effortlessly pushes the narrative forward, something as a writer I always strive to do.

The characters’ development, each diverse and compelling, not only holds your interest but also propels an ever-increasing forward motion, and this, given the over-all plot, is an excellent metaphor for the larger theme, a most striking literary device, which again is something I appreciate but rarely see, and so enjoyed very much in this book.

Yet the most compelling aspect of ELEVEN MILES for me was the universal nature of this personalized story, for the situations therein, expertly portrayed and completely unique to the setting, nevertheless flawlessly engendered concerns and emotions that are fundamental to the collective human condition regardless of time or location, and this brilliant aspect of the work is something I truly admire.

I cannot recommend this book more highly; it’s delightful.

Link to review on Goodreads.com

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review of Eleven Miles by Howard Loring

  1. Pingback: Howard’s time-travelling bus | Lance Greenfield

  2. Pingback: Blogging 101 Assignment #4: Dear Dream Reader | Lance Greenfield

  3. …and a link to it on Goodreads <—happy blog reader 🙂 (Thanks for following my blog, by the way!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

