My Dream Dinner

I like to play the game: “Who would you invite to dinner? No limits”

I even ask the question at interviews. The answers can be quite revealing.

So let me expose myself. You may interpret my answer as you wish.

SatchmoMy first two guests would be Louis Armstrong and my mother, June Lawrence, who was an accomplished classical and jazz pianist. What a brilliant duet they would make for our after dinner entertainment. Could it get any better?

Well, yes, it could!

feynman-wI would also invite Richard P Feynman, my lifelong hero. This man was a true genius with so many facets. If you don’t know him, or you don’t understand why I can make such a statement, I suggest that you read Surely You’re Joking, Mr Feynman! 

In addition to all of his other amazing talents, Feynman also played the bongos to a very high standard. Perfect backing percussion for Louis and Mum!

I recognise that my personal level of intellect is inadequate for such august company. So I need one more guest to take the mealtime conversation into the stratosphere and beyond. In my mind, I have only one choice. It would have to be….

…. Archimedes.

As Satchmo himself would sing, what a wonderful evening; what a wonderful world!

#Blogging101

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt: Seat Guru (13th July 2014).

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Blogging101, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Dream Dinner

  1. Prompts are great. I was glad to find the tips on making prompts your own. This is a really good one. It really got you flowing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now that would be an exciting dinner to attend! Great writing. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm I do like your dinner party especially Louis Armstrong and Achimedes. You have me thinking now…..who would I like at my dinner party to rival yours! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on My originality mindblock and commented:
    Hmm, who would I invite to my dream dinner party? Roald Dahl? Bruce Lee? Charlie Chaplin maybe? hmm, so many choices I may have to deliberate over it some more. Whilst I am doing that, have a read of Lance’s Dream dinner

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your choices are already going in an interesting direction, Sarah. And some connections back to my own life.

      Roald Dahl’s widow sat next to my brother, Oliver, at the presentation evening in Grosvenor House a few years ago when Oli was nominated for Sunday Times Dillons Young Writer of the Year. He didn’t win the ultimate prize, but he had a very interesting evening.

      I met Bruce Lee in Hong Kong when I was eighteen, not long before he died. He was a lovely man, very modest for all his talent. Such a tragedy that he died so young.

      I am very much looking forward to reading about your own Dream Dinner.

      By the way, this was my attempt at #Blogging101 Day Eleven: Make a Prompt Personal.

      Like

      • I am sure I keep missing challenges from blogging 101! I read another blog yesterday who said they were responding to a task set by blogging 101 too that I was not familiar with. Strange….I shall go back over all the ones I have been sent and see what’s missing.
        I am sitting reading your response and rather quickly turning a bright shade of green, very jealous that you had the chance to meet Bruce Lee. I am still deliberating who I would like to come to my dinner so I will post when I have finalised it.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarah, just go to https://blogging101january2015.wordpress.com/ and look downthe side bar on the right for “Assignments.” You’ll see all of the days and links to the assignments for those days.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks, will do, when I have time, I am meant to get emailed the assignments each day but some seem to be missing. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • You really must post your Dinner Party blog as your assignment for Blogging101 Day 11. You already have an impressive list of guests. You could invite me too and tag my username in your blog. That would be exciting!

      And you should refer to the Daily Prompt too, as I have at the bottom of my post. See above for how I did that. You can just copy and paste that bit.

      I am looking forward to dinner!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: My dream dinner party | My originality mindblock

  8. Sounds like it would be a great dinner party! Loved your response to the prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

