Review: A Tale of Oak and Mistletoe

A Tale of Oak and Mistletoe
A Tale of Oak and Mistletoe by E.B. Brown
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I expected this fourth book in the Timewalker series to be every bit as good as the preceding three, and it did not disappoint me.

The story of Maggie and Winn and all the complex relationships that they have across time and blood ties. It is essential that you read this story in its correct sequence as many of the twists and turns of this final episode will confuse you if you don’t.

There are extremes of love and cruelty. There is grief and sadness, and happiness and joy. Close bonds are brutally broken; sometimes to be repaired and sometimes impossible to repair.

There is so much emotion in this book, right up to the very last pages. There are many unexpected twists and turns, but it all makes sense in the end.

The characters are so well painted by the author that I found myself falling in love with them. Occasionally, one of my favorites would be killed off, and I would curse E.B Brown for taking the life of someone I loved. Being a novice author myself, I can imagine how emotionally challenging writing such scenes must have been for her. I’d be willing to bet that she wept as she typed. I certainly wept as I read.

The whole series is terrific and I recommend it to all who read this review. I repeat my advice: read them in order, one to four.

View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

