My Adoring Gardener

As many of you know, poetry is not my forte, but I sometimes give it a go.
Please Let me know what you think.


Oh, when can you come?
To prune these sagging branches.
To take away these drooping petals.
To remove this browning foliage.
Yet to leave these living buds,
From which my honeyed bouquet
Still exudes, sweetly into the air.

Will you hold, till I expire,
My badly bruised body?
As I devote my sundown years,
To you, my adoring gardener.

Never regret our brief encounter,
Or the years of our entwined breathing lives.
Paint my life, with broad black brush strokes.
Add the splashes of the colour that you brought to me.

My heart is flickering now.
It will soon stop.
Let us not sleep until
You have told me all.

Those foreign lands,
Those rugged highlands and streams,
Those dawns and sunsets,
And the people that you met.

I will love you forever.
And as I fall asleep,
I will love you again.
I am at peace. I have no guilt.

Oh, when can you come?
To prune these sagging branches.
To take away these drooping petals.
To remove this browning foliage.
Yet to leave these living buds,
From which my honeyed bouquet
Still exudes, sweetly into the air.


I’ll also post this on to my Titbits page.

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Adoring Gardener

  1. I cannot believe that I got NINE likes within an hour of posting this poem here on my blog! No ratings though.

    I acknowledge that I am RUBBISH at poetry. If only I had paid more attention during English classes at school. Some of the poetry that we read was beautiful, but I just turned off when we had to learn to learn and recite anything by rote.

    As you can see, I have my own “style.” I prefer flow to rhyme, but I even struggle with that.

    Please leave your feedback. I value it. And don’t be worried about hurting me. You won’t. As I said, I already know that I have a lot to learn.

    Like

  2. Lance, I noticed the flow alright and always enjoy poetry written so. I got a somber twilight kind of feeling. I liked it quite much actually. I signed up for a Poetry 101 course but not sure when it starts. Melissa

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pendantry says:

    Poetry is art. It’s all subjective.
    My tuppence is:
    + Your final stanza is redundant; less is often more.
    + Don’t listen to those who say you’ve got it wrong. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

