Review of Eleven Miles from Drifter

Great debut novel

2015/01/img_3983-0.pngThis is an enchanting 4 and 1/2 star story of a young girl’s struggle to overcome some fearsome obstacles in order to gain an education.

The story is set in Botswana and the African sun shines out of every page. The writing style is economic, easy to reads and appears effortless. The story of Boitumelo, a bright young school girl, is based on a true story and this adds to the enchantment. It sounds very African and in some ways it is, just as Alexander McCall’s stories are, but the theme is universal; something which also helps to draw the reader in.

Like any great story, while it is inspirational and uplifting it does have a dark side, adversity and tragedy have to be overcome.

Why didn’t I give it 5 stars? Because the reader is told, rather than shown, what’s happening and a couple of characters just seem to fade away.

For adults, well worth the read and I think younger readers would love it.

See Drifter’s original review on Goodreads

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book, Book review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review of Eleven Miles from Drifter

  1. Thank you so much for this suggestion. Looks like it is worth a read. Too many people take education for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are attending an event together on the 14th March in Essex where we will be interviewed together. Southern African Empowerment and Cultural Workshop. I must make a blog post about this to see if any of my followers can attend.

    I am sure that she’d be up for an interview with you.

    You can read the reviews that I’ve received so far on Goodreads and Amazon (.com and .co.uk). But I can tell you that reading the final two chapters and epilogue of Eleven Miles makes me cry with pride for my heroine, which is ridiculous really, because I made it all up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

