Flutter Away

A tribute to a little bird, who became weaker, and smaller, until eventually, she fluttered away to grace the universe with her beauty.

I found you at the bottom of my garden.
You were very weak.
You tiny little bird.
Did you fall from your nest?

I took you indoors,
And put you in a shoebox.
You would not eat the worms that I caught,
But you took a few drops of milk.

You grew stronger.
Day by day,
You grew stronger.
But your wings were broken.

I hoped that you’d survive,
But I knew that you would die.
Your eyes sparkled at me,
But I knew that you would die.

Your spirit grew stronger,
But your body became weaker.
Even the milk dribbled onto your feathers.
I knew that you would die.

I watched as your spirit rose
From your failing body.
You fluttered away, joyfully free,
Into the sky.

So now, at last,
Your wings are strong.
You can fly through space and time:
Flutter away across the universe.

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flutter Away

    • I am pleased that my emotion comes through. I actually don’t think I am much good at poetry, but it comes from the heart. That is why the technical side of such writing may be missing. Take a look at my other attempts under my Titbits tab, and let me know what you think. Don’t be afraid of hurting me. I prefer the truth!

      Liked by 1 person

      • By far the favorite is Flutter Away= Compassion noted and the words flow beautifully.
        Gone=usual subject but nicely done.
        Ted=awesome because one is left with the question/ humor or not?
        My Adoring Gardener= almost a nicely worded novella.
        Billy=will not attempt to figure out what is means….

        Enjoy your talent!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on Thoughts by Mello-Elo and commented:
    A beautiful tribute. Thank you Lance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

