The Writing Process for Creating a Novel in Less Than a Month

by SC Skillman


This is an article by SC Skillman, giving three tips to help you to complete a 50,000 word first draft of a novel in a month. Three years after reading this inspiring article I saw NaNoWriMo, which led me to actually write my 70,000 word debut novel, Eleven Miles, in just a month and two days. I hope it inspires you in the same way it did me. 


Expert Author SC Skillman

The task is: write a novel of at least 50,000 words in a month; and by the word “novel” we must mean, of course, “the first draft of a novel.” For I have not yet ever created a novel in a month; but in nine days time I will have done that very thing; and therefore I consider myself qualified to write the article.

Read the rest of SC Skillman’s article here

Link to SC Skillman’s blog

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Writing Process for Creating a Novel in Less Than a Month

  1. Heartafire says:

    Most interesting…it has taken me 3 months to write four sections of a novella! thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scskillman says:

    Thank you for blogging my article, Lance, and I’m glad that it inspired you to write “Eleven Miles”!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

