Nonsense Poetry by Consequence

If we were having coffee together in my jungle hut, we might play a little game of consequences. Have you ever played consequences? Each person writes a line of a story and folds the paper so that it is not visible to the next person. Once the paper has done the round at least once, the paper is unfolded and we read the consequences.

The game in my hut is much the same, but we are going to write a nonsensical poem with a theme or a title.

I was inspired by a line that was in my head when I woke up this morning. It is the first line of this little poem that I have imagined could be the consequence of our game in my hut. You must agree that it is complete nonsense. But it is great fun!

Dancing to the Tunes of the Water Melon Patch

On the water melons I sway.
It’s the best way to start my day.
Pip, pip, pip. Bring on the mangoes.
Turn up the heat.
Let’s Argentinian tango.

“Invite all of the fruits to our dance.
The more the juicier, Lance!”
Sing the insatiable water melons.
Plums, bananas, murpees and jorrepons,
Pears, lemons and cherries in pairs.

Pawpaws bring their guitars.
Kabosus bring their bagbipes.
Pond-apples bring their fish.
Fish? FISH!
Yes! What else from pond-apples?

So we tango, and salsa and boogaloo
In the watermelon patch with pomeloo.
To the strings of the fig’s fiddles,
We all juice around and we diddles.
There are no better hosts than melons and siddles.

#weekendcoffeeshare

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Humor, Humour, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nonsense Poetry by Consequence

  1. Corina says:

    Fun poem! It made me want to get up and move!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    🙂 How fun and silly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. somemaid says:

    I haven’t played consequences for years. Have you tried the drawing version? Where each person draws a different body part? Although I expect you could adapt it to houses or monsters etc too. (Might try it now with my kids.)
    Have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Erika Kind says:

    Haha, that was fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

