My Symbol Of Letting Go

Erika Kind

Letting go is a topic in everybody’s life at times. Yesterday I was talking to a friend and I realized that during the past weeks more and more friends are posting about letting go or about their process of letting go. There are so many different reasons or stories behind. May it be about love, about plans we made, about disappointments, being hurt. But in the end we can mostly sum it up to two points:

View original post 462 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Symbol Of Letting Go

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Thank you for the reblog, Lance 🙂 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I already posted this on Erika’s original post on her own blog, but I think that it is worth repeating here for those of you who don’t click across.

    This is a point I make to people about the importance of letting go. It was explained to me in a totally different way, but I like to explain it in my own terms.

    Pick up a book. You must have one close at hand, so you could do this right now.

    How heavy is the book? Not too heavy, really.

    Stand up and hold it out in front of you at arm’s length. One hand or two? It doesn’t matter.

    This is easy, isn’t it?

    Hold it there for a whole minute. Still easy?

    Hold it there for five minutes. It’s feeling a bit heavier now isn’t it. You may even be getting some aches in your hands, wrists and arms.

    Hold it for fifteen minutes. You may have already given up, but you are getting the idea. The book feels a lot heavier. The pain is spreading to your shoulders and even to your back.

    If you go ahead and hold it for half a day, the book will weigh more than anything you ever carried before and you will be paralyzed with the pain. Your mind will have only one item in it…. that damned book!

    So, you must all be with me by now, bearing in mind the subject of Erika’s wonderful blog post. The earlier that you let go, the less weight you have to carry and the less pain you have to bear.

    Let go and move on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

