Review: Dog Tails: Three Humorous Short Stories for Dog Lovers

Dog Tails: Three Humorous Short Stories for Dog Lovers
Dog Tails: Three Humorous Short Stories for Dog Lovers by Tara Chevrestt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Reviewed by Ronan Greenfield Mitchell

I’d like to make two things very clear before I start my review of this excellent book.

Firstly, I am NOT thick! Just because I am Irish and mixed breed, there is no requirement to stereotype me. You humans are just too quick to do that. In fact, I am a very clever border collie, springer, and various other superior breeds, cross. You can tell that I am clever, because here I am, at nine years old, writing my first ever book review.

Secondly, I have a vested interest to declare. My Dad was sent an early copy of Dog Tails to review by his friend in Utah, who is the author, and the Mom of my three cousins, Lola, Pudgy and Jazzy. He left it lying around after he read it, and I decided that I would bound in and write up this review to save him the bother.

pawWell, I can tell you that I really enjoyed all three of these tail-wagging tales. Although my heart was in my mouth at times as I lived the events with the characters, I kept reminding myself that this is fiction and there was no need to be afraid. The stories really capture how we dogs feel and the things that might happen to us, day to day, if we are not careful. You have no idea!

All three were very funny indeed. I was snuffling and sniggering all the way through. At one point my large tail was wagging so extremely, that I was bruising my sides.

Humans will enjoy the stories just as much as dogs. If cats could read rather than lounge around all day, I dare say that they would enjoy reading these too. There I go: not practising what I preach. I just stereotyped cats! I am sure that there must be an active cat somewhere in the world. I just haven’t met her yet.

Ronan&Bertie&Maisie01

Me in the middle with Bertie on my right and Maisie on my left

I have no hesitation in awarding a whole box of dog biscuits to this book. As this is a human web site, I guess I’ll just have to give it five stars too, as that’s the way you people measure these things.

I send my love to my three cousins across the ocean in Utah.

This review was pawed by Ronan (Greenfield Mitchell)

View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Dog Tails: Three Humorous Short Stories for Dog Lovers

  1. Hi Lance,
    Aww, isn’t your Ronan such a clever dog. It must be the irish genes :p Us Irish can’t help but be charming, intelligent and witty !!! Hehe 🙂 Great review, sounds like a funny read. My rabbit Rosie had her own blog last year. Pets these days really are high achievers aren’t they?!
    Nicola 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Nicola.
      It’s been a while since I was in Ireland, but I used to be in Dublin and Cork all the time. I am half Highlander, half Yorkshireman, so my Highland roots give me an affinity with the Irish. Totally understand what you say about animals. Many are more intelligent than a lot of humans I know, and certainly kinder and more loyal.
      If you have time, take a look at the summaries of my two books in the tabs at the top of my blog page. Also, I am sure that a little sub-story in the epitaph of my Mum, June, will make you chuckle. It has an Irish connection which I am sure you will recognise. Most of my Titbits anre very short, and will make you laugh.
      Have fun!
      Lance 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

