Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Stories behind the Tears

This week, I come to Silver Threading’s Writer’s Quote Wednesday with a few tears in my eyes. That won’t surprise anyone who knows me well. I am a very emotional man. It doesn’t take very much to make me cry.

writersquote

In the past week I have attended the funeral of my step-Dad, and my 83 year-old, infirm father has eloped! There were other, less dramatic events in my life, but my emotions have been stirred.

Witnessing an act of extreme kindness can bring me to tears just as easily as witnessing an act of cruelty. I just well up.

So I know that my chosen quote this week is very true. Tears are shed for a reason. Behind those tears, anybody’s tears, there is a story. Next time you see somebody crying, ask yourself, “What is the story behind those tears?”

Crying

“I cry very easily. It can be a movie, a ‘phone conversation, a sunset
– tears are words waiting to be written.”

Paulo Coelho

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in quotes, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Stories behind the Tears

  1. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    A great quote for Writer’s Quote Wednesday from Lance Greenfield.. When I was a child and there was a happy or sad movie on the television I would always cry.. even when 80 my father would rate a film according to the tear factor..’Sally would like that!’

    Like

  2. El Rolyat says:

    Reading this post brought a tear to my eye. I guess I cry easily too …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As I have ‘matured’, I find I cry at the least little thing. Seeing tears in a picture or in read life breaks me up too. Sigh.
    Good post for discussion. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh Lance! How beautiful! I cry at the drop of a hat now. Even television shows. I have been known to sob over characters in books. I am right there with you, friend. Excellent quote! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. noelleg44 says:

    I’ve always cried over characters, pets, family events – you name it! I am very reassured to learn there is a man who is not embarrassed to cry. My husband does, too. Tears are cathartic!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 9/3/15 | Silver Threading

  7. A lovely quote. There almost feels to be something cold when, as a writer, we harvest that emotion and bring those tears to life in the words of our stories. But what else can we do? The imperative cannot be dodged – shake it out, dust if off and make it shine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

