Writer’s Quote Wednesday – The Chrysalis Moment

060915_1859_writersquot1

Until yesterday afternoon, I had a quote from Sir Richard Branson lined up for Writer’s Quote Wednesday hosted by Silverthreading. I’ll keep that on in my back pocket for another day.

As I was driving home listening to the radio, I heard a quote which struck a chord with me and sent my mind whirring into its deeper meaning. Then, this morning, I spotted a blog post from Remembering Infinity which related a delightful little story from his grandmother reflecting upon that quote. You’ll find this story by following the link to Born to Fly.

I can hear you all telling me to stop waffling and give you the quote, so here it is.

Butterfly

What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.
Richard Bach

The quote comes from Richard Bach’s book, Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah, which I have yet to read. He is, of course well known to most for Jonathan Livingstone Seagull, which I loved from the moment I first read it on the train journey to commence my military training many years ago. That book is truly inspirational fiction.

It also links very well into another quote by the same author, again from Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah.
[Note to self: Read that book!]

Here is a test to find whether your mission on earth is finished:
If you’re alive, it isn’t.

Richard Bach

And that takes me neatly back to a wonderful poem, which I recommend you turn to if every you are bereaved: Death is not the End.

So there you have my contribution for this week. The message that I take from all of this is that when all seems lost, it really isn’t. In fact, something more beautiful may emerge from the wreckage that seems to surround you. Be every hopeful.

Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday – A Silver Quote
Pingback: Be Writing on Wednesday to Be Wonderful on Wednesday

#WritersQuoteWednesday #BeWoW

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in quotes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writer’s Quote Wednesday – The Chrysalis Moment

  1. Great post, Lance! Thank you so much for the visit and repost. I’ve read and even re-read “Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah” a couple of times and it’s a WONDERFUL book. I HIGHLY recommend it!

    Isn’t it amazing how synchronicity nudges us along from one revelation or experience to another? The further along in this life I go, the more I realize there’s no such thing as “coincidence”. You were meant to see my post and I was meant to see yours for some reason. Universe works in magical ways indeed!

    Thanks again–and it has been very nice to meet you!

    With Love,

    Stargazer

    PS: I’m actually a “he” (at least in this incarnation). And no worries! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks.
      I have swiftly corrected your gender as per your PS. 🙂
      I also believe that there is no such thing as coincidence. Every event is bound to happen. And I say that as a statistician.
      Also, I strongly believe that everyone, and everything, is connected in some way, both in space and time. Read my coach tours. They’ll make you chuckle.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I always enjoy the parallels that I find with my writing/blogging friends. I loved Jonathan Livingston Seagull and read it many years ago. It might be time to re-read it. We are surely a bunch of like minded individuals! I loved this quote! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 10/28/15 | Silver Threading

  4. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Look After Your People | Lance Greenfield

  5. Pingback: Review: Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah | Lance Greenfield

Leave a Reply

