Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Age and Enthusiasm

Writer's Quote Wednesday

Image credit: silverthreading.com

Today I celebrate my sixtieth birthday. When I was at school, a thirty year-old looked very old to me. Today she looks very young.

I don’t feel as if I am sixty. I feel as full of enthusiasm for life as I did when I was sixteen. Thinking about it, I am probably even more motivated now than I was when I was a teenager.

Age Aldous Huxley

I am still a child. Ask anyone who knows me.

I still love to play [field] hockey every Saturday. I have been playing since I was seven. My team-mates often tell me that I will eventually get it right if I keep trying.

I run almost every day. When I don’t run, I row my machine in the garage for at least four kilometres.

I love my job and interacting with my colleagues around the world.

I enjoy writing and will soon publish my second novel. Check out my first: Eleven Miles.

I enjoy time travel more than I ever did, especially now that I have perfected my coach. I delight on taking my tourists to times gone by to meet some of my oldest acquaintances. Please join me on my latest coach tour.

I don’t have any real secret to maintaining my motivation and enthusiasm. Sub-consciously, I have been following Aldous Huxley’s advice for decades, and I shall continue to do so.

“The secret of genius is to carry the spirit of the child into old age, which means never losing your enthusiasm.”
Aldous Huxley

Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday
Pingback: Be Writing on Wednesday to Be Wonderful on Wednesday

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Age and Enthusiasm

  1. Happy Birthday!! Hope you had a wonderful Celebration! I’m right behind you. I’ll be 57 in Feb and I still feel young at heart, want to have adventures and enjoy life. My knees creak from arthritis but on my days off I walk several miles taking photographs of my Brooklyn neighborhood. I do my best to stay active. Over all despite sounding like a bowl of Rice Krispies on some days my spirit is youthful and I’m looking forward to retiring in two years and traveling across America and the world! I’m just as excited about life with the addition of wisdom and common sense!! LOL!! Here are some photos:
    http://roamingurbangypsy.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. leggypeggy says:

    Happy Birthday! I passed sixty quite a few years back, and still don’t feel or act my age.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. momshieb says:

    Happy birthday! You are truly inspiring, especially to this almost 60 lady who is beginning to lose some of that enthusiasm. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. khansana1000 says:

    Happy Birthday Lance 🙂 May Allah give you a long happy and healthy life 🙂 and I love the quote .

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Bravo Lance! Happy Birthday. I think youth is over-rated!!! I did not come into my own until I hit 50. I will be 58 in April and although that sounds old, I feel the same as you. I have more enthusiasm for life now. I think it is because we are where we wanted to be. I don’t know. I love your quote though! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: #Writer’s Quote Wednesday & #BeWoW – The Weekly Wrap-Up from 12/16/15 | Silver Threading

Leave a Reply

