Perfecting a Manuscript for Kindle Direct Publishing

The Problem

KindleWhilst I am very excited that Knitting Can Walk! will go live on Kindle tomorrow morning, I am disappointed that I have been unable to make last minute minor edits to perfect the text that my readers will download. This is not due to the technical limitations of KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing). It is because their rule is that the uploaded version is locked three days before publication.

Authors who have self-published through KDP will know that they can make changes at any time, once their book is live, and the updated version will be available for download about 12 hours later. In fact, such changes can be made from the first upload, ten days or more before “go live” date right up until that three day lock-down period.

It’s infuriating!

The version that will automatically downloaded to the Kindle devices of those wonderful people who have pre-ordered my book will contain lots of minor errors. Within a few hours, the corrected version will become available for download.

I apologize profusely to those of you who have already bought my book.

The Solution

The good news is that I have discovered a simple workaround. And this one works for ANY Kindle reader to get the latest version of ANY book that they have purchased in the past.

  1. Log in to your Amazon account.
  2. From the drop-down menu under “Your Account” select “Manage Your Content and Devices”.
  3. Next to each book that you have ordered on Kindle, you’ll see a button with three dots like this “…”
  4. Click on that and a popup will appear. One of the options is “Deliver”.
  5. Click on that option.
  6. Then you can choose which devices to deliver to.
  7. The latest version of your book will be delivered to your choice(s) of device(s).
  8. Hey presto!

I hope that this helps my readers to get their eyes on the best possible version of my book and that it helps other Kindle readers to get the latest versions of their favourites.

 

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in KDP, kindle, Kindle Direct Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Perfecting a Manuscript for Kindle Direct Publishing

  1. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog and commented:
    Readers – Thanks to Lance for this information that will help you get the latest version of books that authors have updated ๐Ÿ‘

    Like

  2. I understand your frustration with this. I guess I can see Amazon’s side of things a bit as well. They want to be able to ensure that there is content when a book goes live. Allowing changes up to the last minute may cause them some technical issues as well. One thing to beware of, effective February 1st, it appears that there will be some type of warning or flag put on books with excessive errors in grammar and formatting. The official word on this is a bit fuzzy, but it appears that it might be based on user complaints at first. While this might help improve the quality of indie author work, I hope it is judicious and I hope the same standard is applied to traditionally published work where I regularly find typos and grammatical errors.
    Good luck with your launch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you and with Amazon.
      They need to be sure that the full content is there, so they insist that we upload the full book at least ten days ahead of the go-live date.
      What irritates me is that, the second that my book goes live, I will be able to upload the “perfected” version. It will be available about 12 hours later. Logically, I should be able to make last minute corrections right up until a few hours prior to release.
      Something that I do like is that KDP runs an automatic spell-checker on my manuscript and allows me to make any necessary corrections.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. MousesWife says:

    Kindle also has a option you can click it will automatically update any book which gets updated with changes. You just have to click the option, and if any book you have has changes it will update them books. Under manage content and devices go down page to automatic book update and click it on . ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Connecting. Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy Sยฎ 5

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There is another catch. I recently tried to review my edits on my downloaded copy of one of my books and they weren’t visible. When I contacted Amazon I was told that readers cannot, as led to believe, update their books because Amazon doesn’t want them to “lose their notes and bookmarks.” So readers need to be aware that they may have to archive their book and redownload it. Resetting it with their Kindle manager may not work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Perfecting a Manuscript for Kindle Direct Publishing | Wind Eggs

  6. Lance, I’m sorry KDP is causing you headaches just before launch. Take heart because your post has and will help other authors going forward. All the best with your book. ๐Ÿ™ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Whew. Problem solved! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks, Lance, for this helpful information. ๐Ÿ™‚ — Suzanne Joshi

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Reblogged this on Thoughts by Mello-Elo and commented:
    For all those purchasing Knitting Can Walk and other stories for your Kindle…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Reblogged this on Nikki McDonagh – author and photographer and commented:
    Great advice/tip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

