One old man and his bike go to Rome

Via Francigena

This is my old friend, Adge, doing something quite remarkable.

Follow his progress.

Cycling the Via Francigena

Life is like a ten speed bicycle. Most of us have gears we never use.

Charles M. Schulz

So, I suppose you might be thinking why cycle from Canterbury to Rome? I’m not sure I have a reasonable answer other than, why not?

I am cycling along the Via Francigena which is a recognised Pilgrims route, first undertaken by (and don’t laugh!) Sigeric the Serious who made the pilgrimage to Rome in order to receive his Pallium (or vestment) circa 990. I first came across the Via Francigena on holiday in Italy, last year, and the idea of a walk or a cycle along the same route was subsequently conceived (I was sober at the time!).

The Via Francigena is well documented route and there are numerous websites and books that offer a far better description than I ever could. Suffice it to say it’s a journey of around 2,000kms and should take…

View original post 400 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in charity, pilgrimage, via francigena and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

