Review: Unconscious Knowledge

Unconscious Knowledge
Unconscious Knowledge by Beaird Glover

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As I read through this, my rating swayed between 3 and 5 stars, increasing towards the top end as I went.

The story is very good. It reminded me a little bit of Bonny and Clyde. A young couple believe that they are on their way to Hollywood and that life and death are just scenes in a movie. There is a great deal of violence, dark humor, backwoods incest, strange relationships and there are bent cops.

Despite all of that, I found myself empathizing with Syd and Marcy, particularly Marcy, as the story evolved. They are murderous, but very likable. That may sound strange, but you should read it and you may feel the same. I can’t say much more without telling you the whole story.

By the end, which is unpredictable by the way, I’d worked my way up to four-and-a-half stars. It could easily have been five.

I would definitely recommend that you read it and form your own opinion.

View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

