Review: The Double Comfort Safari Club

The Double Comfort Safari Club
The Double Comfort Safari Club by Alexander McCall Smith

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I just love all of the characters in this series, even the ones who are a little bit miscreant, and I always enjoy the little stories within the main course of each book. Mma Ramotswe always finds a happy conclusion, sometimes when that seems impossible.

is not exception. It is a very good holiday read as it is light and airy and doesn’t strain the brain.

As always, the flavour of Botswana is perfectly captured by the author, and I particularly like that Mma Ramotswe and her assistant detective, Mma Makutsi make a brief venture north to Maun in the Okavango Delta.

However, I am beginning to get a little bored with all of the repetition of the attributes of the main main characters and their relationships. I find that the expressions “traditionally built” and “it is well known” have been over-done in the extreme.

Having said that, I’ll probably find myself reading another case for the No 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency during my 2017 Summer Holiday. It’s almost an addiction. One a year is enough though.

Recommended to all lovers of Africa and as a nice light read.

View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in African Culture, Book review, Botswana and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Double Comfort Safari Club

  1. I absolutely love this entire series and have read every book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

