Day 37 – La Storta to Rome

Read about this fantastic achievement by my old friend, Adge Roe.

It was a long journey and he is now a shadow of his former self – the selfie proves it!

Cycling the Via Francigena

Well that’s it! Ride finished and passport eventually stamped in the Sacrisant in the Vatican (despite the attempts to thwart my entry by a Paul Hollywood lookalike, he obviously didn’t realise the might of the UK passport and an ex servicemans ability to ‘blag’!)

The final few km were relatively straightforward, particularly if you adopt the Italian driving approach when cycling! I met Joe Bloggs late morning and left him to guard Bessie while I resolved the passport issue.
My entrance to Rome was not quite the triumphs that Roman history is famed for, mine was more low key, but nevertheless still quite emotional. As I cycled past Castel Sant’Angelo (made famous by Dan Brown) a lone guitarist was playing Samba Pa Ti by Santana, which is strangely enough one of my favourites (now is that conicidence or what?)

I suppose at the end of such a trip, I should…

View original post 125 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

