The Writing Process for Creating a Novel In Less Than a Month

NaNoWriMo 2016 started yesterday. I was at a conference which included a dinner, so I only got a couple of hundred words written. The important point is that I registered more than a zero. I am going to have to work hard to catch up, but catch up I shall.

When I first took up the challenge in 2014, I took the advice of fellow NaNoers combined with Sheila’s advice in this article. I particularly like her second point, which I have passed on to many writers. Keep on writing until you reach the end of your novel. Never go back and edit the previous day’s work. If you do that, you will never finish.

Once you have completed your first draft, you can set it aside for a while then go back and review and revise, over and over, until you have your publishable novel.

SC Skillman Blog

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) begins today for 2016 and I will be once again taking this challenge – completing the first draft of my new novel “Director’s Cut”. nanowrimo-2016-participant Here is an article I wrote when I was 3 weeks into the 2011 challenge, in order to write the first draft of my second novel “A Passionate Spirit”. Everything I said then still applies now; and my extra challenge is to take my own advice! I hope some of you who are setting out on this challenge today will find it a source of inspiration.

The task is: write a novel of at least 50,000 words in a month; and by the word “novel” we must mean, of course, “the first draft of a novel.” For I have not yet ever created a novel in a month; but in nine days time I will have done that very thing; and…

View original post 422 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Writing Process for Creating a Novel In Less Than a Month

  1. Good luck Lance! I have several friends doing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

