Book review – a Slave narrative

Thank so Lucie for sharing this review, and especially for supplying the link to the summary of Vol. 1 which appears in “Documenting The American South.” I urge followers of my blog to take five minutes, for that is all you need, to read the summary. It is very interesting. I don’t have time to promote the book in its entirety to the top of my tbr list, so the summary serves excellent purpose.

I loved the reference to Equiano’s first encounter with snow whilst in England. It reminded me of the time in my own life when I was at school in North Wales. There were a couple of Kenyan boys in my division (house) who woke up one morning to observe a heavy snow storm through the window. They screamed with excitement. “Hey! Look at all them insects!” Running outside in their pajamas, they were soon yelping and dancing in the snow. “Sheet man! It is SO cold!”

Hilarious!

Back to the seriousness of “The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano.” Please at least read the short summary on the link. It is well worth a small slice of your valuable time.

Lucie Muses

I just got back from Mauritius. And this is something I also copied to my Facebook. Sorry for duplicating ! I am a bit busy!

1947877141-olaudah-equino
I am reading an interesting book, appropriate for reading it in the hot African country. Slave narrative, written by an African man who was kidnapped, age about 10, and sold into slavery, eventually, he buys his freedom, moves to England, writes this book. It was first published in 1789.

If you do not want to read it, I found a summary:

http://docsouth.unc.edu/neh/equiano1/summary.html

Written by a man born in Africa, slave since childhood, this is an intelligent honest person, navigating through life, slavery, learning English and many skills, becoming a Christian and abolitionist. The language is simple and archaic, and there is a certain charming naïveté, combined with a smart brain. I liked his arguments for better treatment of slaves, which later changed to conviction…

View original post 316 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

