How learning French made me appreciate the countryside. Win Win situation.

I know what you mean about Michel Thomas’s courses, Lucie Novak. They give you a good sense and flavour of his subject language. He certainly taught me that much of the French language is just mispronounced English. No doubt, he teaches the French students the same in reverse about my native language.

Lucie Muses

swan

I am a city girl.

I grew up in the centre of Prague, and wanted to stay there. Trips to my parents’ country weekend cottage bored me. I was happy to sit indoors and read. They kept chasing me to go out. Get some fresh air. Do I mind a not so fresh air? Nope, not in the slightest. I never smoked, but smoky atmosphere of Prague coffee houses was just fine.

In the end, my dislike of the communist regime made me emigrate. I live in green England. The English love their countryside.

I would prefer not to be so close to nature. But I am not a millionaire, so I will never live in the centre of London, I am destined to stay in the leafy suburb.

When I say that where I live is “too rural”, people laugh. They think I am joking. I am not.  Yes, we…

View original post 149 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
Gallery | This entry was posted in blogging, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How learning French made me appreciate the countryside. Win Win situation.

  1. luciemuses says:

    Well, I like Michel Thomas, but it is quite funny the way he claims English is really just mispronounced French. When I first started learning English, my knowledge of German and French really helped, but I nevere heard any German saying English is really German. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you Lucia. It is funny. In fact, it is his sense of humour he does a good job of keeping his teaching style light and entertaining. I like this style!

    Like

Leave a Reply

