An Interview with William Horwood

Simultaneously, I am intensely jealous and hugely happy.

I would have loved to spend a few hours in the company of William Howrwood, listening to his views on writing and how he got into it. In my opinion, Horwood is one of the greatest storytellers ever, and is in the same class as Kipling anf Tolkein. He is the author of one of my favourite books of all time, Skallagrigg. I can understand how some readers could not get into this work but, for me, it has all the intricacy, depth and history of a finely woven Persian rug.

I am very happy, because Ash has shared this interview with us. I only wish that it could have been longer. William Horwood is such an interesting character. Thanks for this Ash.

Fabulous Realms

I’m delighted to post today an exclusive interview I recently conducted with William Horwood, author of the Duncton Wood series. Dedicated followers of this blog will be well aware of the high regard in which I hold William and his Duncton novels in particular, so it was a real pleasure to chat with him about a range of topics, including what got him into writing in the first place, inspirations for his work, the most enjoyable and challenging aspects of being a writer and, perhaps most interestingly, the potential forthcoming re-publication of the Duncton novels with Unbound, an award-winning crowdfunding publishing company. As you’ll see from the interview William was very open and incredibly generous with his time, giving answers that were sincere, full, interesting and, often, quite amusing! Read on for more…

View original post 2,610 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Interview with William Horwood

  1. niolemblog says:

    Your write-ups are good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. scskillman says:

    Thank you for re-posting this interview, Lance. William Horwood gives some fascinating replies, and much for authors to reflect upon. I found the story of Duncton Wood compelling when I read it years ago. The character of Mandrake is one that has the power to haunt you through the years. Every so often I am reminded of how I felt about him when I read the book – he is such a chilling character.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

