Whatever Happened to Small is Beautiful?

In the main, I agree with Sheila.

The odds are set against that breakthrough coming along when one is battling alone. Very occasionally, it DOES happen.

I keep my faith and I hope.

My dream is that somebody influential notices the review comments that say, “This would make a great movie.” I cannot afford to make the film of either of my novels, so I need an established movie director to come to the understanding that “Eleven Miles” could be the next award-winning blockbuster.

In the meantime, I must get on with writing the sequel.

SC Skillman Blog

In 1993, E.F. Schmacher published a book entitled Small is Beautiful: A Study of Economics as if People Mattered. Small-Is-Beautiful-CoverIt was well received, and promised a potential revolution in ideas for capitalism and for the consumer society.

Recently I saw a plea from a Christian charity for us to invest in poor (“small” in economic terms) countries and help them develop their economies within their own culture. The benefits of this will radiate out to encompass all of us. The truth behind this is one that philosophers have clearly seen and expressed (in particular John Ruskin) yet it continually seems to bypass the greedy, the corporate, the leviathans of our consumer society.

I found myself relating it to the situation of the “indie” author.  Our society does not yet fully honour the idea that it is good to invest in small indie writers and help them in their businesses (comparable…

View original post 109 more words

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Eleven Miles, indie, Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

