Book Review: Little Big Lies by Liane Moriarty

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Big Little LiesBig Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My top advice to you regarding this book is that you should persevere. By the time you get to the end of the story, you will agree with me that it was well worth it.

For me, the first quarter of this book was boring and suffered from character-building overload. There were just too many people with superficial appearances that I just knew were false. You could say that the title of the book had warned me that it would be so. I soon learned that somebody had been killed at a school event for parents and that one of those parents was responsible for the death.

However, once I had struggled through that first quarter, the action picked up to a pace that kept me interested throughout and always had me wanting to read on to see what happened next.

I predicted the identity of the victim fairly early on and was even quite close on the motive. That didn’t spoil my enjoyment though. I couldn’t wait for that person to meet their untimely death, although I would have liked them to endure some prolonged suffering before their life was terminated. I would have loved to witness the uncomfortable wriggling of the victim for a while.

What I couldn’t guess was the identity of the perpetrator. Nor could I guess how the victim would die.

I enjoyed reading the consequences of the death for some of the main characters in the book, especially the closing line. DON’T you dare skip to the last page! You’ll spoil your own experience.

I recommend this book with some emphasis on my advice at the beginning of this review.


View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment