Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Listen and Observe

060915_1859_writersquot1

This week, for Writer’s Quote Wednesday hosted by Silverthreading, I draw upon the simple wisdom of the Dalai Lama.

Blurred crowd

Stop and listen!

As I travel around the world, and I have done that a lot, I find myself sitting around in airports, railway stations, bus stations, hotel lobbies, great city plazas and numerous other places where I have the great opportunity to observe people. That’s what I do. I watch the people passing by. I listen to what they say, even if I do not speak their language or immediately understand their words. I take in their actions and interactions. I think about where they have come from, how they grew up, what their childhood was like, what their occupations may be, what relationships affect their lives, and much more.

People-watching is such fun, and it allows one’s imagination to run riot.

I know that I can learn something from each and every one of them, if I allow myself to do so. The Dalai Lama tells us that we should listen to others so that we may learn.

For writers, this is most important.

Dalai LamaWe can observe and we can listen. From the snippets that we pick up, we can let our creativity build the world around those people that we are watching. What problems do they have? What may seem trivial to us could be the biggest  part of somebody else’s life. Right now, I am carrying a huge sack of family and work problems around with me, trying to unravel the turmoil within. Would anybody who sees me walking past ever imagine any of the problems that I carry with me in that invisible sack? I doubt it.

And so the converse is true. I must tune in to the lives of others. I must build their worlds around them. By doing so, I could gather enough material to write a novel a day.

So hear the words of the Dalai Lama. Listen to me. And today, take the time to observe and listen as life passes you by. Everyone you see today has a story. Hear it!

“When you talk, you are only repeating what you already know. But if you listen, you may learn something new.”
Dalai Lama

Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Winds of Change – Rumi
Pingback: Be Writing on Wednesday to Be Wonderful on Wednesday

#WritersQuoteWednesday #BeWoW

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in dalai lama, quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Listen and Observe

  1. Love, love, love your quote. 💖💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

  2. khansana1000 says:

    Thanks for the follow ! Glad to find your blog on Silver Threading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Please take a look around my blog. You’ll find much to amuse you in the Titbits section, and look out for the time-traveling coach tours.
      But I am especially pleased with the feedback that I got on Tuesday regarding my debut novel. Please feel free to re-blog it or pass it on in any way you think fit.
      Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Silver Threading and commented:
    I had to share Lance’s great advice: “So hear the words of the Dalai Lama. Listen to me. And today, take the time to observe and listen as life passes you by. Everyone you see today has a story. Hear it!”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. olganm says:

    A great quote indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. People watching is one of my favourite pastimes too, Lance, such a necessity for us writers, and you’re right nobody really knows what turmoil is going on in a stranger’s head. Hope you are okay, and the family and work problems aren’t getting you down too much.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Listen and Observe | oshriradhekrishnabole

  7. Love the Dalai Lama quote…an important one to remember. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love the quote, Lance! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: October 19 #LinkYourLife Roundup: The Post-op (un)Medicated Version | On The Verge

  10. Pingback: October 19 #LinkYourLife Roundup: The Post-op (un)Medicated Version | The Honeyed Quill

Leave a Reply

