Imagination and Inspiration – Writer’s Quote Wednesday

This is the first time that I have ever participated in Silver Threading’s Writer’s Quote Wednesday, so I am a little nervous about whether my choice will hit the mark.

writersquote

My quote is from a famous painter, rather than an author, but I believe that it is very appropriate and inspirational for all budding writers of fiction. As we write down those thoughts and stories that come into our minds, they start to become real to us.

Before I started writing, I always thought that authors who said that they became emotionally attached to their characters, and were even guided through scenes by them, were speaking utter rubbish. During the writing of Eleven Miles, I soon realized that they were speaking the truth. I fell in love with three of my characters and became very emotional about them. Even today, I cannot read the final chapter of that book without crying real tears of pride for my main protagonist. She achieved so much, yet I made it all up. Am I crazy? No, I am not. Well, not too crazy. What has happened is that my imagination has become reality, and I think that is wonderful!

Aligator

“Everything you can imagine is real”
Pablo Picasso

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in inspiration, quotes, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Imagination and Inspiration – Writer’s Quote Wednesday

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Yep, that is a truth!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silver Threading says:

    Lance, this is marvelous!! Welcome and thank you for your amazing insights. We share all kinds of quotes here. It is all part of the creative process for all of us “creatives.” Picasso’s quote reminds me of magic and the worlds we create in our minds. Thanks again! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This Picasso quote is one of my all-time favourites. We really need to trust our gut on what our characters need to say and let them go for it. This is my first week participating in Colleen’s great post idea, as well. Newbies unite 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 7/22/15 « Silver Threading

  5. Hello! Great choice! I love this quote and although it was Picasso, a painter, who said it, I believe it applies to all artists, most of all writers. Most writers have great imaginations and when we put our thoughts in writing, in a book, it becomes real. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment