A Fabulous Fable – The Truth (?)

“You’ll never get away with it,” he said.

“We will. All the smart money is on you, but your speed of foot can’t beat my notorious cunning and Shelley’s ancient wisdom.”

“When you release me and I run to the finish line, all of the other animals will not believe that I fell asleep and let that crusty pie on legs beat me.”

“Hmm. You may be right. It would make a fabulous fable.”

“Yes. Too incredible to be true.”

“There could be a steward’s inquiry. The bookies may not pay out my winnings.”

“The race will be re-run and I won’t let you trap me next time.”

“You’ve convinced me. I’ll just have to kill you and eat you. They’ll never find your bones.”

Headline:
Tortoise wins race. Hare disappears without trace.

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Short story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment