At last! “SOON” became “TODAY”

For several weeks, as I walk my dog, I have been passing a takeaway outlet near to Andover station, which was being refurbished. I made friends with the proprietor, Jai. Whenever I asked him when he intended to open, he would tell me, “SOON!”

Jai’s place, Jiggaz Grill, will be selling Caribbean food, including goat curry, rice and peas and all sorts of spicy jerk chicken dishes.

I teased Jai about how soon is “Soon!” and eventually wrote a little poem for him.
He’s going to display this image on the wall of his outlet.

Andover Jiggaz will open soon.
I’m stood at the door with my wooden spoon.
We’ll all be pleased
With their rice and peas.
But how soon is “SOON”? The next blue moon?

Finally, the day has come!
He opened this evening and I was treated to ‘Dumpling Mania”.
It was absolutely delicious.
I look forward to trying many more dishes from this intriguing menu.

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At last! “SOON” became “TODAY”

Leave a comment