Book Review: A Walk in the Woods and Other Short Stories by Esther Chilton

Rating: 5 out of 5.
A Walk In The Woods: and other short storiesA Walk In The Woods: and other short stories by Esther Chilton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I enjoyed every story of this little collection.
Each story is compact in its writing and, I felt, exactly the right length to convey its own message.

There is always a twist in the tale or a clever punchline. The endings are mostly surprises. That’s good!

Some of the stories are dark. Some are humorous.

I particularly liked the slight, but understandable kinkiness of ‘Book Lovers.’ The ending made me chuckle.

‘Operation Flora’ is a Christmas tale with a difference. There is a tiny niggle of regret but the battered fairy comes out on top.

The signature story, ‘A Walk in the Woods,’ is good, but I preferred ‘A Walk in the Park,’ which was blatantly heading for a predictable reunion, but then there was a beautiful twist at the end.

The most hilarious story, again with a nice twist, is ‘The Secret Diary of Marvin Martin aged 14½’.

Its doesn’t take long to read this book and I guarantee that you will be delighted.

View all my reviews

About Lance Greenfield

Blog: lancegreenfield.wordpress.com email: lancegmitchell@outlook.com I published my debut novel in December 2014: Eleven Miles. My second novel went live in February 2016: Knitting Can Walk!
This entry was posted in Book review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Book Review: A Walk in the Woods and Other Short Stories by Esther Chilton

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I’m so glad you enjoyed the stories 😊

    Like

Leave a comment